The Algerian parliament welcomes, at the occasion of the 48th Session of the Executive Committee of the African Parliamentary Union in Algiers, the parliament Speakers, the distinguished delegations Presidents and the hosts in Algeria their second home.

The Algerian Parliament hopes that the meetings of our session be an opportunity for dialogue and exchange views about the proposed works agenda especially its two points discussed during the 28 th conference held in Congo Brazzaville (November 2005) on:

- The human development achievement: role of the African parliaments.
- Democracy strengthening to keep peace in Africa.

Such subjects are very important and aim at dealing with solving the continent issues and to find out fruitful solutions likely to be applied at the service of the African people who are looking for decent life.

This 48 th session of the Executive committee is being held, while our African Parliamentary Union and the African society are commemorating the day of Africa that coincides with 25 may every year, a day considered as a historical sign for the multilateral African action.

We are honored to receive the African parliamentary participant delegations, to welcome once more honorable guests and hope them a pleasant stay in Algeria, and to hope successful woks with results for the 48 th session of the Executive committee.

Best regards
The Algerian Parliament

A l’occasion de la tenue en Algérie des travaux de la 48e session du Comité Exécutif de l’Union Parlementaire Africaine, le parlement algérien souhaite la bienvenue à Mesdames et Messieurs les Présidents des Parlements, les chefs de délégation et à ses hôtes ,en Algérie, leur deuxième pays.

Le Parlement algérien espère que les réunions de cette session soient une occasion de discussion et d’échange de points de vue sur les thèmes proposés dans l’ordre du jour, en particulier les deux points étudiés durant la 28e conférence tenue au Congo Brazzaville en novembre 2005 sur:

- La réalisation du développement humain : Rôle des Parlements Africains.
- La consolidation de la démocratie pour préserver la paix en Afrique.

Ce sont là d’importants sujets qui visent à résoudre les questions du continent et à atteindre des résultats qui se traduiront concrètement par la suite, pour servir les peuples africains qui aspirent à une vie respectable.

La 48e Session du Comité Exécutif de l’Union Parlementaire Africaine se déroule au moment où la communauté africaine commémore la journée de l’Afrique, qui a lieu le 25 mai de chaque année. C’est en effet, un jour qui constitue un signe distinctif et une histoire mémorable dans l’œuvre africaine dans ses multiples aspects.

C’est un insigne honneur que de voir participer avec nous les délégations parlementaires africaines. Nous renouvelons nos expressions de bienvenue à nos invités et leur souhaitons un agréable séjour en Algérie.

Nous espérons que les travaux de la 48e Session du Comité Exécutif seront couronnés de succès et de réussite.